Skip to main content
Virtual MOBTS 2020

Full Program »

COVID-19 and the Five Stages of Grief: Pedagogical Applications of the Kübler-Ross Model

Pedagogical Applications, Kubler-Ross Model, Grief

In this session we connect the Kübler-Ross Model and its five stages of grief (denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance) to students’ experiences of loss during the sudden move to remote learning and social distancing. Discussion will center on the ways in which the stages of grief were/are illustrated by students’ attitudes and behaviors during the change and what pedagogical strategies and techniques can be used to help students move through the grief process. The goal of this session is to co-create a set of best practices for remote learning that are framed through 1) information and communication, 2) emotional support, and 3) guidance and direction. The aim is to share experiences of how the stages of grief affect our approaches to teaching and inspire best practices for remote learning that demonstrate awareness and sensitivity to the losses students and teachers are facing during these unprecedented times.

Kathi Lovelace
Menlo College
United States


Powered by OpenConf®
Copyright ©2002-2018 Zakon Group LLC