Each year at the MOBTS annual conference, we honor our award winners across a variety of areas of influence and engagement within the Society and beyond. From lifelong educators to research to mentorship to service, the recipients of these awards have dedicated their professional lives to their craft and each embody the mission of MOBTS – to enhance the quality of teaching and learning across the management disciplines – in their own ways.

We congratulate each of this year’s award winners! We hope you’ll join us at MOBTS 2022 in Cal Poly Pomona to honor them.


Kathy Lund Dean

The David L. Bradford Outstanding Educator Award acknowledges one person or a teaching team with consistently demonstrated achievement over a lifetime, focusing on teaching and learning excellence. These individuals have contributed substantially to the Society, and have impacted the field as a whole, with their innovations and ideas extending to a wide audience. The award is in honor of David L. Bradford, the founder of the OBTS Teaching Society for Management Educators (now MOBTS) and a gifted and dedicated teacher. This year’s Bradford Outstanding Educator Award goes to Kathy Lund Dean (Gustavus Adolphus College).


Tim O. Peterson

The Peter J. Frost Mentoring Award acknowledges an individual who has distinguished him or herself as not only a gifted teacher and scholar but also as someone who unselfishly imparts these gifts through his or her mentoring of students, colleagues and associates. This annual award recognizes the energy and dedication of a mentor who, through his/her willingness to provide advice, guidance, friendship and a supportive ear, furthers the development of current and future teachers, scholars, and mentors in the field of management and management education. By honoring the memory of Peter J. Frost, the Organizational Behavior Teaching Society recognizes Peter’s outstanding leadership as the Society’s first Executive Director and first OB-1, as well as his many contributions to good teaching and scholarship in the organizational sciences. Most importantly, this award demonstrates both the Society’s deep respect for an extraordinary mentor and the value that it places on the role of mentoring in good teaching and learning. This year’s Frost Mentoring Award goes to Tim O. Peterson (North Dakota State University).


Alexandra Dunn

The New Educator Award recognizes a person at an early career stage (up to five years after receiving the doctoral degree) who is an exceptional in-class instructor and educational innovator and who has shown cutting-edge promise and creativity in his or her teaching, conference presentations, or publishing in the area of management education. These individuals are emerging voices within the Society who promise to bring new ways of thinking about and practicing management education. This year’s New Educator Award goes to Alexandra Dunn (Mary Washington University).


Christine Rivers

The Mid-Career Distinguished Educator Award recognizes mid-career faculty members who have demonstrated excellence and leadership in the broader domain of management education. Not only do these faculty members demonstrate individual teaching excellence, but through their leadership and vision they further the mission of excellence, visibility, and engagement in the management education field. This year’s Mid-Career Distinguished Educator Award goes to Christine Rivers (University of Surrey).


The Fritz Roethlisberger Memorial Award is co-sponsored by MOBTS and Sage Publications. The Roethlisberger Award commemorates Fritz Roethlisberger’s passionate devotion to inquiry and learning in the classroom.  It is granted each year to the author or authors judged to have contributed the best paper on the teaching of organizational behavior and management published in the preceding year in the Journal of Management Education. This year’s Roethlisberger Award goes to Stephanie Lee Black, Sandra W. DeGrassi, & Kenneth M. Sweet for their article, “Multisource feedback as experiential learning enabler in large-format Management classes.”

Stephanie Lee Black

Sandra W. DeGrassi

Kenneth M. Sweet






Russ Vince

The Lasting Impact Award, co-sponsored by the Journal of Management Education and Sage Publications, annually recognizes an article published in JME at least 10 years prior that continues to have a significant impact on management education or educators, either conceptually or practically, since its publication. This year’s Lasting Impact Award goes to Russ Vince (University of Bath) for his article, “Behind & Beyond Kolb’s Learning Cycle.” (June 1998)


The Management Teaching Review‘s Best Pedagogical Contribution Award annually recognizes an article published in MTR that enhances teaching and learning in the classroom by way of innovation, creativity, and practicality all while being recognized as an approach that will have a broad appeal and maintain a high level of usefulness and impact in the future. This year’s Best Pedagogical Contribution Awards goes to Vicki Fairbanks Taylor (Shippensburg University), Lisa Stickney (University of Baltimore), Bev DeMarr (Ferris State University), & Melissa Fender (Rutgers University-Camden) for their paper, “Improving Academic Literacy in the Management Classroom: Are Your Students Lost in Translation?

Vicki Fairbanks Taylor

Lisa Stickney

Bev DeMarr

Melissa Fender






The Susan Herman Service Award recognizes an individual or a team who gives back to the Society through volunteerism over a significant number of years shown by way of outstanding service to the Society above and beyond the call of duty which may include terms of service on the Board, engagement within the annual conference and awards, service to our journals, and/or contributions to the ‘magic’ and mission of the organization, and actions and engagements of an individual or team whose contributions represent the epitome of altruism, enthusiasm, and selflessness of the organization. This year’s Herman Service Award goes to the team of Jeanie Forray (Western New England University) and Kathy Lund Dean (Gustavus Adolphus College).

Jeanie Forray

Kathy Lund Dean

Categories: News